Two New Districts To Come Into Existence In Telangana

16 Feb, 2019 15:17 IST|Sakshi
The number of districts in Telangana will now extend to 33. 

Hyderabad: The number of districts in Telangana will now extend to 33. The state currently has 31 Districts. Two new districts - Mulugu and Narayanapeta will come into existence in Telangana from February 17.

According to the official sources, the concerned file has been transferred from the PMO to the Justice Department and a gazette notification in regard to the creation of two new districts is set to be issued on Saturday.

During the Assembly elections, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao promised to ensure that Mulugu and Narayanapeta will be made districts.

On 31 December last year, the state government issued a decree on reorganization of the Mahabubnagar district with the mandate of 12 mandals of Narayanapeta district, as well as the Jayashankar Bhupalapalli district, to form the Samkula-Saralamma Mulugu District with nine mandals. The principal notification was given 30 days time in regard of any objections and suggestions.

The Revenue Department will give a final notification as no objection to the proposals in accordance with the government order. The number of districts in Telangana will be increased to 33. After the formation of Telangana province, the reorganization of the districts began and 21 new districts were formed on October 11, 2016.

Also Read: KCR To Expand Telangana Cabinet On February 19

More News