YS Jagan takes oath in AP Assembly

19 Jun, 2014 13:05 IST|Sakshi
YS Jagan takes oath in AP Assembly

YSR Congress Party chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy took oath amid thumping of desks as MLA in the first session of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.  Attired in blue shirt and black trousers, YS Jagan was the second to take oath. 

Andhra Pradesh chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, YS Jagan and Deputy CMs K.E. Krishna Murthy and Nimmakayala China Rajappa were among first to take oath administered by protem Speaker, P Narayanaswamy.  They took oath in Telugu.  Devineni Uma Mahesh Rao and other ministers took oath next. 

Very few chose to take oath in English.

The first session of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly and Council will be held for five days from June 19 to 24 in the old Assembly Bhavan in Hyderabad. (Ja'gun' to target TDP misdeeds in AP assembly)

The session began at 11.52 am on Thursday. Sessions in the State Legislative Council are being held simultaneously.

Earlier in the day, TDP MLA Pathiwada Narayanaswamy Naidu took oath as Protem Speaker at Raj Bhavan, where the Governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath of  office to him.

Ja'gun' to target TDP misdeeds in AP assembly 

Thursday, June 19, is a red letter day for both the three-year-old YSRCP and its chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy. YS Jagan who gave a tough fight to 30-year-old TDP in the recently concluded elections and helped wipe out Congress from the region, entered Assembly for the first time as the main opposition leader.

This is the first session of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly. 

With 67 members, YSRCLP would be the main opposition party in the 175-member Assembly of Andhra Pradesh. Incidentally, the contest between YSRCP and TDP was so close that the difference in the total votes polled between the two parties was only 500,000. 

YS Jagan, who was MP from Kadapa, fought the Assembly polls for the first time from Pulivendula, his home turf, and secured the highest majority in Andhra Pradesh assembly. He had won by a margin of 75,243 votes. 

During his recent review meetings, YS Jagan exuded confidence that the party will come to power soon due to its hard work and dedication to the people's cause.  


{joomplucat:1635 limit=4|columns=4|ordering=random}

Related Video

Read More:
More News