What did Seemandhra ministers decide over Telangana?

4 Oct, 2013 18:15 IST|Sakshi
What did Seemandhra ministers decide over Telangana?

Unlike some central ministers and Congress MPs from Seemandhra who resigned to protest the union cabinet’s decision to carve out separate Telangana state, the Andhra Pradesh ministers have decided not to quit so that they can defeat the resolution whenever it is moved in the state assembly.

Ministers and state legislators of Congress from Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra) Friday had a meeting with Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy to chalk out their future course of action. They vowed to defeat the resolution in the assembly.
Infrastructure Minister G. Srinivasa Rao told reporters that the chief minister advised them not to quit till they defeat the Telangana resolution in the assembly.
However, differing with them, Law Minister E. Pratap Reddy submitted his resignation to Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan. He also decided to quit the Congress.
Stating that there is no precedent of forming a new state without the consent of the concerned assembly, Srinivasa Rao said the resolution would have to be moved in the house.
Another minister S. Sailajanath said the process for bifurcation can’t move ahead without assembly passing a resolution. “We are determined to defeat the resolution or the bill whenever it is brought in the assembly,” he said.
State Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana also present at the meeting, which was attended by about 70 leaders including ministers and legislators. Satyanarayana said the decision to split the state had pained him.
He said Congress took the decision after all political parties supported the demand for bifurcation.





Read More:
More News