Telangana Election Results 2018: TRS  Gets Majority In Telangana

11 Dec, 2018 16:41 IST|Sakshi
Telangana Elections 2018: TRS party workers celebrating

Hyderabad:The ruling TRS secured a simple majority winning 76 seats and was ahead in 10 others as per the latest vote count in the Telangana assembly elections Tuesday.

According to results and trends available as of 3 pm, the Congress won 13 seats and leading in seven while ally TDP bagged one seat and was leading in another.

AIMIM, which supported TRS, won two and was ahead in four constituencies while the BJP and others were leading in four seats.

Counting of votes polled in the December 7 elections to the 119-member assembly began at 8 AM Tuesday.

TRS president and caretaker chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, who led his party to the impressive performance in the polls, won his Gajwel seat by more than 51,000 votes over his nearest Congress rival V Pratap Reddy.

His son and minister K T Rama Rao emerged triumphant from Sircilla segment, defeating nearest Congress rival K K Mahender Reddy by a margin of 88,000 votes.

Chandrasekhar Rao's nephew and cabinet colleague T Harish Rao romped home with a huge margin of 1,18,499 votes in Siddpet constituency, trouncing nearest Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) rival Bhavani Reddy, who secured 12,596 votes.

Grateful, indebted & Humbled. Thanks Telangana for keeping the faith in KCR Garu & giving us another opportunity to serve you, Rama Rao tweeted.

Several leaders, including chief ministers of West Bengal, Bihar and Karnataka -- Mamata Banerjee, Nitish Kumar and H D Kumaraswamy respectively -- and Leader of Opposition in Andhra Pradesh Assembly and YSRCP President Jaganmohan Reddy greeted KCR, as the TRS chief is popularly known.

Other prominent candidates among those who won are ministers E Rajender and T Srinivas Yadav and AIMIM's Akbaruddin Owaisi, brother of party chief Asaduddin Owaisi.

Ministers Tummala Nageswar Rao, Jupally Krishna Rao and P Mahender Reddy and Telangana Congress Working President Revanth Reddy, senior Congress leader Jana Reddy and Telangana BJP president K Laxman were the losing candidates

BJP candidates Amar Singh and Raja Singh were leading in Karwan and Goshamahal segments respectively. (PTI )

Also Read: KCR’s Record Of Not Losing An Election Since 1985 Intact!

Read More:
More News