Wanaparthy Constituency: Candidates, Parties To watch Out For in Telangana Polls

8 Nov, 2018 12:17 IST|Sakshi
Wanaparthy Constituency

Wanaparthy constituency may not be a push-over for any single party. The constituency which was created in 1952, is a prestigious one and will prove to be a hotly contested one too.

Wanaparthy is an ancient cradle of Telangana culture and was ruled by the Kakatiya dynasty and later by the Wanaparthy samsthan after the slow decline of the Kakatiya rule. Raja Rameshwara Rao, a Rajya Sabha member of the Congress and his ancestors  have been held in high esteem by the electorate here.

It has a population of 3,25,630 with more than 2 lakh voters and is therefore, a large one.

In the recently dissolved House, G. Chinna Reddy of the Congress had defeated Singireddy Niranjan Reddy of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), and this has been the general pattern.

Wanaparthy is seen as a Congress stronghold with the party winning the seat on nine occasions, while the TDP wrested it from the Congress 3 times.

In 1983, Balakistaiah won the seat as an Independent candidate, the only time an Independent won the seat. The TRS is yet to open its account in this constituency.
G. Chinna Reddy will find the going tough this time around with some key pending problems which tend to spill over into the election campaign. He will be pitted mainly against Niranjan Reddy of the TRS whom he had defeated in 2014. However, the Mahakutami or Grand Alliance may prove to be to his advantage, since the votes of all the other alliance partners will land in his kitty. Moreover, while he had won the seat with a majority of just over 4,000 votes the last time around, the TDP candidate Ravula Chandrasekhar Reddy, had then polled more than 45,000 votes.

Here's a look at candidates who have contested and won from the Wanaparthy Assembly Constituency

Also Read: Wanaparthy TRS Candidate Bets On Palle Nidra For Votes

Read More:
More News