WhatsApp's 'View Once' feature for pictures and videos has been rolled out to all users; here's how to use it.
The view once, or disappearing, feature on WhatsApp is designed to ensure that your private images and videos do not come back to bother you in the future.
WhatsApp wants you to keep your phone free of clutter, so it's introducing a new view once disappearing mode for images and videos. Here's how to make the most of the new feature.
WhatsApp's 'View Once' Feature: WhatsApp continues to introduce new features to the app regularly to remain ahead of the competition. This results in users having access to extremely helpful chat features. These new WhatsApp chat features may offer new functionality, increase user privacy, or modify the interface. Last month, the app began testing its upcoming multi-device feature with a small group of beta users, as well as end-to-end encrypted backups for a limited time. All users of the app will now have access to a new ‘View Once' option for disappearing images.
Benefits of the WhatsApp View Once feature:
On both iOS and Android, it was recently reported that WhatsApp was beta testing the new View Once feature for images. Facebook detailed the reasons behind the new feature in a blog post published on Tuesday. While the company claims that the feature is designed to improve user privacy by automatically deleting messages after a set length of time, there is another reason why WhatsApp launched this feature: to keep your phone clean.
While capturing photographs and videos has grown more popular as mobile phones have become smarter, the firm claims that these images might clog up your camera roll and eat up space on your phone. This can lead to subsequent storage management difficulties, such as having to go through hundreds or thousands of photographs and videos and then delete them. These might be as simple as things on your grocery list or clothes purchased at the mall, or they can be far more sensitive.
How does the WhatsApp View Once feature work?
If you send a disappearing message on WhatsApp, the media will display a ‘View Once' symbol. The preview will not show up when you receive the media. Just like Snapchat, Instagram, and Facebook Messenger, after you've viewed it, you won't be able to access it again. "After viewing the media, the message will appear as "opened" to avoid any confusion about what was going on in the chat at the time," the firm claims.
To send someone a View Once photo or video on WhatsApp, use the app's camera to quickly take a photo or video, then press the (1) icon to send the media as View Once media. You won't be able to tap to open the image after it's been sent, and the receiver will only be able to see it once.
When will the View Once feature be available on WhatsApp?
According to WhatsApp, the feature will be available to all users this week, so if you haven't received it yet, it'll only be a matter of time.