Karnataka To Send Passengers Of 6 States To Quarantine

23 May, 2020 15:58 IST|Sakshi

BENGALURU: As the domestic airways are set to resume from Monday after nearly two months, the Karnataka government on Friday said returnees from six states with high COVID-19 cases will be kept in institutional quarantine for seven days.

The six states include Maharashtra, Gujarat, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh.

Director General of Police, Karnataka has stated that all passengers coming to Karnataka via domestic flights from the these six states will be required to undergo a 7-day “institutional quarantine” which will be followed by home quarantine.

The state police official announced the same on Twitter. 

Earlier this week, the Ministry of Civil Aviation announced that domestic air travel will resume from May 25 with conditions. The ministry has urged the elderly, pregnant women and children, to avoid travelling.

According to the standard operating procedure released by the government, all people to arrive via rain, air road are expected to quarantine. After they test negative for the disease in pool testing, they will be sent for home quarantine for another seven days, the government said.

Meanwhile, the aviation ministry also released a set of guidelines for those who wants to travel by air from Monday. As per the guidelines, passengers must wear masks and follow social distancing norms. Only one cabin bag and one check-in baggage will be allowed per passenger. Web check-ins are encouraged and health update on Aarogya Setu - as well as self-declaration - is also a must.

India’s total count of cases rose to 1,25,101, including 3,720 deaths, on Saturday, according to the union ministry's update. In the last 24 hours, the country reported 6,654 cases and 137 deaths.

Read More:
More News