Konaseema To Be Renamed Dr BR Ambedkar Konaseema District

18 May, 2022 18:26 IST|Sakshi Post

AMARAVATI: Newly formed Konaseema district will undergo a name change. As per reports, the Government will change the name from Konaseema to Dr BR Ambedkar Konaseema. On Wednesday, the government issued a notification inviting objections and suggestions on the proposal to rename the Konaseema district after Dr BR Ambedkar from the people residing within Konaseema.

All objections and suggestions should be written in English or Telugu and sent to the Konaseema District Collector within 30 days. The Konaseema district was carved out from East Godavari with Amalapuram as its headquarters.  

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy has formally inaugurated 13 new districts in the state, doubling the number to 26, in April, as part of the decentralization process and taking the governance closer to the people.

The new districts are: Parvathipuram Manyam, Alluri Seetharamaraju, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Konaseema, Eluru, NTR, Palanadu, Bapatla, Nandyala, Sri Satya Sai, Annamayya and Tirupati.

Also Read: Here's How the New AP Map Looks Like After Districts Reorganization

Read More:
More News