LS 2014: Andhra, Telangana MPs take oath

5 Jun, 2014 13:50 IST|Sakshi
LS 2014: Andhra, Telangana MPs take oath

Several MPs belonging to Andhra Pradesh and Telangana  took oath as members of the 16th Lok Sabha on Thursday.  Prime Minister Narendra Modi, several of his Cabinet colleagues and Congress President Sonia Gandhi were prominent among those who took oath today.

Attired in spotless white, the Prime Minister was the first to take oath amid thumping of desks. He took oath in Hindi in the name of God and was followed by BJP veteran L K Advani.

Several Union ministers also took oath in Hindi, and  Sushma Swaraj, Uma Bharti and Harsh Vardhan took oath in Sanskrit. Several MPs from Telangana and AP  preferred to take oath in their mother tongue. 

YSRCP MPs Butta Renuka, Velugupalli Varaprasad Reddy took oath in English, YS Avinash Reddy, YV Subba Reddy, Midhun Reddy and Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy took oath in Telugu. TDP members, Ashok Gajapati Raju, JC Diwakar Reddy, and Nimmala Koshtappa took oath in English and Hindi, respectively.   

Senior members Arjun Charan Sethi (BJD), P A Sangma (NPP) and Biren Singh Engti (Cong), appointed on the Panel of Chairpersons by the President to help the Protem Speaker in oath taking process, took oath after Prime Minister Modi, Advani and Sonia Gandhi. 

Here are the Videos


-Sakshipost, With PTI inputs

Read More:
More News