Ex-CM loses bypoll in Maharashtra

15 Apr, 2015 12:50 IST|Sakshi
Ex-CM loses bypoll in Maharashtra

Sympathy factor and support for the ruling parties marked the bypolls to the legislative assemblies held in various parts of the country. In Maharashtra widows of deceased MLAs registered impressive victories, while ruling Congress and the ruling Akali-BJP combine won the bypolls in their respective states.

In Maharashtra, Shiv Sena's Trupti Sawant defeated Congress heavyweight and former Maharashtra CM Narayan Rane in Bandra (East) by over 19,000 votes. While Sawant polled 52711 votes, the Congress secured 33703 votes. The MIM came third with just 15050 votes.

In Tasgaon-Kavthemahankal constituency,  Nationalist Congress Party candidate Suman Patil was elected to the Maharashtra assembly in the by-poll Patil, widow of former deputy chief minister R.R. Patil, an NCP stalwart, secured over 112,000 votes, comfortably trouncing rebel Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Swapnil Patil. The by-election last Saturday in Tasgaon-Kavthemahankal was necessitated following the death of sitting legislator and former deputy chief minister R.R. Patil in February.

In Punjab, the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) wrested the Dhuri assembly seat from Congress. SAD candidate Gobind Singh Longowal, a former minister and three-time MLA, drubbed Congress-Sanjha Morcha joint candidate Simar Partap Singh, In the past around eight years of SAD-BJP combine rule, the SAD had won three and Congress one by-polls. In Uttarakhand’s Bhagavanpur, the Congress had won the bypoll.


More News