Counting begins for Medak, Nandigama bypolls

16 Sep, 2014 09:58 IST|Sakshi
Counting begins for Medak, Nandigama bypolls

Counting of votes in the bypolls held for Medak Lok Sabha constituency in Telangana and Nandigama Assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh began this morning amid tight security arrangements.

The bypoll in Medak parliamentary seat was necessitated due to the resignation of TRS President K Chandrasekhar Rao after he became the Chief Minister.

The ruling TRS has fielded K Prabhakar Reddy as its candidate, while main opposition Congress' candidate is former minister V Sunita Laxma Reddy. Former Congress MLA T Jayaprakash Reddy is the nominee of the BJP-TDP combine.

The by-election in Nandigama (SC) Assembly segment in Krishna district of Andhra Pradesh was caused by the death of TDP MLA T Prabhakar due to heart attack days after his election.

His daughter T Soumya is the ruling TDP candidate. Main opposition YSR Congress decided not to field its candidate following a request from TDP to make the bypoll a unanimous affair. However, Congress has nominated Babu Rao as its candidate.

The result in Nandigama (SC) Assembly constituency as well as Medak Lok Sabha seat are expected by the afternoon. Security has been made heightened for counting of votes in both the places.


More News