Bypoll results: No major Upsets

30 Jun, 2015 14:43 IST|Sakshi
Bypoll results: No major Upsets

After the Bypoll voting on 27 the couting took place on the 30. These are the results declared at the different constituencies where the by-polls were held

Madhyapradesh Bypolls

BJP retained Garoth Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh's Mandsaur district albeit with a reduced margin than in the 2013 Assembly polls. The Congress, however, termed BJP's win with a lower margin than earlier as a moral defeat for the ruling party. The by-election at the seat was necessitated due to the death of BJP MLA Rajesh Yadav following illness.

BJP candidate Chander Singh Sisodia won the bypoll by defeating Congress' Subhash Kumar Sojatia with a margin of 12,945 votes, an election officer said. Sisodia got 81,449 votes while Sojatia bagged 68,504 votes, he said.

The BJP had won the seat in the 2013 Assembly polls with a margin of 25,755 votes. A total of 1,55,934 voters exercised their franchise in the bypoll, with 1,924 voting in favour of NOTA (None of the Above). In 2013, 1,63,892 votes were polled at the seat. Eight candidates were in fray for the by-poll, but the main contest was between BJP's Sisodia and Congress nominee Sojatia.

Tripura Bypolls

The ruling CPI(M) won both the Pratapgarh (SC) and Surma (SC) Assembly seats by a huge margin in Tripura where bye-elections were held. CPI(M) candidate in Pratapgarh constituency, Ramu Das defeated his nearest BJP candidate, Mousami Das by a margin of 17,326 votes. In Surma, CPI(M) candidate Anjan Das beat his nearest rival from BJP, Asish Das by a margin of 15,309 votes. Bypoll was necessitated in Pratapgarh due to the death of CPI(M) veteran and former minister Anil Sarkar and in Surma due to the death of sitting MLA Sudhir Das.

Kerala Bypolls

K S Sabarinadhan won the Aruvikkara bypoll with a margin of 10,128 votes defeating his nearest rival M Vijayakumar of the LDF spearheaded by CPI-M. A beaming Chief Minister Oommen Chandy said the victory was a clear pointer to UDF coming to power in the next elections, creating history in a state which elects governments alternating between UDF and LDF.
Attacking the CPI(M), Chandy said the party had insulted the electorate by alleging that the UDF had earned the victory by splurging money earned through corrupt deals and liquor. Earlier, a sombre opposition leader, V S Achuthanandan, alleged that UDF victory was due to appeasement of minority, which the BJP had taken advantage of.

Sabarinadhan polled 56,448 votes, while Vijayakumar, a former speaker and ex-state minister could get only 46,320 votes and BJP candidate and former Union Minister O Rajagopal 34,145 votes in the fierce triangular contest.

Tamil Nadu
Tamilnadu ofcourse had Jayalaithaa win by 1 lakh 50 thousand votes , paving way up till the Chief Ministers seat



More News