Hindupur Set To Become New District With A Split in Anantapur

4 Jun, 2019 18:02 IST|Sakshi
Anantapur district reorganization

Anantapur: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy who is working towards fulfilling the promises made during elections step by step has called for the division of Anantapur district. He had earlier said that for the effective development of regions and for the welfare schemes to percolate to the grass root level downsizing of the districts into smaller administrative regions was the key.

As per official sources, district administration has already sent data and information to the State government and the process has been initiated for the division of the district.

Anantapur is said to be the largest district in terms of area in the State of Andhra Pradesh.

The district has five revenue divisions viz., Anantapur, Dharmavaram, Kadiri, Kalyandurg and Penukonda divisions. Kadiri and Kalyandurg divisions were formed in 2013.These revenue divisions are further divided into 63 mandals, 1,029 panchayaths and 3,314 habitats.

Ananatapur, Hindupur districts

It is proposed that Anantapur (with Anantapur Town as the centre) and Hindupur parliamentary constituencies are set to become two separate districts. The spiritual town of Puttaparthi is proposed to become another district.

Based on the official information it is said that under the new Anantapur district, there is a probability of six Assembly constituencies in it and under Puttaparthi district there would be seven Assembly constituencies.

By the next General Elections in 2024, it is said the State will be further divided into multiple districts from the existing 13. With this there could be a possibility of an increase in Assembly constituencies in each parliamentary constituency. Anantapur as of now has five revenue divisions of Anantapur, Dharmavaram, Kadiri, Kalyandurg and Penugonda .

Puttaparthi district

If a new district is formed the divisions of Penugonda, Dharmavaram, Kalyanadurgam would fall under the new Puttaparthi district.

Penugonda as Centre

Kadiri division is likely to fall under Madanapalli, which could also be another district in the making. There are several other proposals to make another revenue division with Guntakal as the centre, or make Penugonda as a district and centre point for various revenue divisions. However, these are all in the preliminary stages and reports have been sent to the state government to take the final decision about the state reorganization.

Also Read: Chandrababu Vs YS Jagan: Officials Sing Praises Of New AP CM’s Humble Demeanor

Also Read: JC Diwakar Reddy To Quit Politics: End of The JC Era In Anantapur

Also Read: Anantapur Election Results 2019: MLA & MP Winner List | District & Constituency Wise

Read More:
More News