EC Cracks The Whip On 6 AP Officials

19 Apr, 2019 16:54 IST|Sakshi
Election Commission Of India

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has cracked the whip on six officials in Andhra Pradesh for dereliction of duty on April 11, the day of polling. It has decided to act against Returning Officers in Nuzvid, Sullurupeta and Kovuru constituencies and has framed charges against them. Earlier, the Election Commission had suspended the Assistant Returning Officer and Returning Officer of Atmakur constituency in Nellore district after lodging an FIR against them.

It is learnt that chief minister Chandrababu Naidu had finalised the list of ROs after many rounds of consultation with senior officials in CMO, TDP MLAs, ministers and constituency in-charge party workers and leaders. Officials in the state secretariat say (on condition of anonymity) that Chandrababu Naidu sent a final list of ROs vetted by the TDP leadership and higher-ups in the government. It is this context that the Election Commission of India decided to crack the whip on erring officials when it comes to election duties.

Also Read: Election Commission Faults Chandrababu On Code Violation

Read More:
More News