RS Polls: Both TRS Candidates Elected Unopposed, Formal Elections On In AP

19 Mar, 2020 11:07 IST|Sakshi
TRS and YSRCP Rajya Sabha Candidates

HYDERABAD:Two ruling TRS nominees in Telangana were on Wednesday declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha. The election of K Keshava Rao and K R Suresh Reddy was announced by officials after only their papers were left at the end of the deadline for withdrawal of nominations.

Both Keshava Rao and Suresh Reddy had been senior Congress leaders before joining the TRS.

The biennial election to the Rajya Sabha from Telangana was announced as the term of two members K V P Ramachandra Rao and Garikapati Mohan is expiring on April 9.

While Keshava Rao had served as president of Congress in unified Andhra Pradesh, Suresh Reddy was the Assembly Speaker.

Formal election on as 4 YSRCP candidates, one from TDP in fray for four RS seats

AMARAVATI: A formal election has become inevitable as five candidates--four of the ruling YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and one of the opposition TDP--remained in the fray for the four Rajya Sabha seats in the biennial elections from Andhra Pradesh.

The Returning Officer and Legislature Secretary Balakrishnamacharyulu said on Wednesday election would be held on March 26 as five candidates were in the fray. None of the five withdrew their candidature when the last date for withdrawal ended on Wednesday.

The YSRCP has fielded Deputy Chief Minister Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose, Minister Mopidevi Venkata Ramana Rao, realtor A Ayodhya Rami Reddy and Reliance Industries Senior Group President Parimal Nathwani as its candidates. Nathwani had been an Independent MP from Jharkhand for the last two consecutive terms.

With a formidable strength of 151 in the 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly, the YSRCP winning all the four seats is evident as the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), with just 23 members, stands no chance. Of the 23, three MLAs had already rebelled against the TDP. A minimum of 36 votes are required for a candidate to win the Rajya Sabha seat from Andhra Pradesh.

Four seats in the Upper House of Parliament will fall vacant from Andhra Pradesh on April 9 when the sitting members retire at the end of their six-year term. (PTI)

Also Read: Former MP Kavitha Is TRS nominee In T’gana Legislative Council Bypoll

Load Comments
Hide Comments
More News
One Year Of YS Jagan Rule In AP: Sajjala Asks Partymen to Hoist YSRCP Flags On May 23
Chandrababu Naidu Now Reduced To Life In Exile: YSRCP MP Vijayasai Reddy
Naidu Is Criticising But Nation Is Hailing CM YS Jagan: YSRCP MP Mithun Reddy  
COVID-19: JP Nadda Cautions Kanna Against Frivolous Charges On AP Govt
TDP Should Spell Out Its Stand On ‘Pothireddypadu’: Anil Kumar Yadav
Carryminati 70 Million Views Video, ‘TikTok Vs Youtube’, Deleted 
Lockdown: Telugu Film Industry Celebrities Meet At Megastar Chiranjeevi’s House
Bigg Boss 13 Contestant Shehnaaz Gill’s Father Booked For Rape, Absconding
Bigg Boss 13 Contestant Shehnaaz Gill’s Father Booked In Rape Case, Absconding